‘Lady Midnight’ by Cassandra Clare

  1. Lady MidnightA fantastic, fast-paced first installment to the follow up series to Mortal Instrument-series that’ll leave you longing for the next novel.

The last installment of the Shadowhunter series was published in the summer of 2014. I can well remember it because I was visiting a friend in Tulsa, Oklahoma and it was just published. It was the sixth and final book in the Mortal Instruments-series, wrapping up many stories but also opening up the plot for the Dark Artifices-series. Since then it was antagonizingly long for Cassandra Clare to finish it.

I saw a notification that the waiting was finally over. I recalled the previous book series, not suprisingsly since the tv-show just started airing. I have to say it was worth the wait.

Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorne were instroduced in City of Heavenly Fire, as well as Julian’s siblings all named after characters in classics and roman history. No wonder I am drawn there, huh? Tiberius, Livia, Drusilla and Octavian. Also there are the two elder siblings Mark and Helen. They are half-faeries. You should know that as a result of the faeries helping Sebastian Morgenstern faeries were excluded from the Accords.

You see Mortals and Downworlders (Werewolves, Vampires, Warlocks) are protected Shadow hunters which are part Nephilim or Angels. In the Dark War many Shadowhunters were killed and the Faeries were punished for aiding Sebastian.

But Mark and Helen were ripped from their siblings due to the Cold Peace as it’s called. Helen exiled and Mark taken by the Wild Hunt.

The story picks up five years later. Emma and Julian are 17 now and had have to adapt to the new world. Julian being the eldest brother and parent at 12 has taken on the responsibility of raising his siblings. He is an artist, too. Emma is still trying to find out who killed her parents. She doubts it was Sebastian. She is also a talented shadowhunter that trains very hard. A murder series involving faeries gets events started. Mark has the chance to return to his family. Permanently? What has happened to him during his time with the Wild Hunt? You will have to get the book to find out more.

I see parallels to Clary and Jace here but their relationship is different. They’ve known each other since they were children and due to everything that has happened their bond is stronger than ever. I saw their bond in City of Heavenly Fire. It was promising then and Lady Midnight proved me right.

They are parabatai, a bond that’s supposed to be platonic. But between them there are romantic feelings lingering between them and reading the novel was filled with it. Cassandra Clare loves epic, forbidden love stories it seems. I was shipping them from their introduction and I’m still rooting for them. But the events show why parabatai being in love is forbidden. I’m sure they’ll end up together but Cassandra Clare has a lot more in store. It’s only the first book after all.

Also I loved the references to characters from the Mortal Instruments series and the Infernal Devices. I’ve read the first as I mentioned above and I’ll read the second soon. If you haven’t read them they are introduced and explained and you can enter this world but if you like me and can reconnect with old characters it’s even better. You value the given information so much more.

But the new main character set is very good, too. They are complex and you can identify with them. You see the family and Emma and the new characters and even some I thought I wouldn’t like but didn’t found I dislike. Cassandra Clare draws you in and you are anxious for more.

A very good plot, complex protagonists and overall engaging read. I’m gonna read the next book. You can count on it.

http://www.cassandraclare.com/my-writing/novels/the-dark-artifices/

 

Leave a Reply

