‘The Particular Charm of Miss Jane Austen’ by Ada Bright and Cassandra Grafton

A time-travel romance for any Janeite who wants to enjoy a fast-paced story full of all things  Jane Austen,  friendship, laughter, love, and about how a book can change your life.

There were many aspects of the story I loved. But before I explain those to you here is the summary:

Rose Wallace’s world revolves around all things Austen, and with the annual festival in Bath – and the arrival of dishy archaeologist, Dr Aiden Trevellyan – just around the corner, all is well with the world…

But then a mysterious woman who bears more than a passing resemblance to the great author moves in upstairs, and things take a disastrous turn. Rose’s new neighbour is Jane Austen, whose time travel adventure has been sabotaged by a mischievous dog, trapping her in the twenty-first century.

Rose’s life is instantly changed – new home, new job, new friends – but she’s the only one who seems to have noticed! To right the world around her, she will have to do whatever it takes to help Jane get back home to write Rose’s beloved novels. Because a world without Mr Darcy? It’s not worth living in!

As an avid reader and Janeite you surely see why this book appealed to me.

The first few chapters introducing Rose and her friend Morgan attending the annual Jane Austen Festival in Bath was so familiar to me. I attended the festival in costume several times – in full Regency wardrobe – and can attest to many scenes described by the author and how much a common love for Jane Austen can connect people and forge friendships. I met very good friends there myself and the Janeite community is a very large and welcoming one. The time spend at said festival is cherished memory for everyone. Not to mention that I can picture everything set in Bath and later Chawton vividly in my mind because I’ve spent so much time there.

Rose Walace is an avid fan who even chose her basement apartment at Sydney Place Number 4 because Jane Austen once lived there. How true that shall be… for her strange neighbor turns out to be a time travelling Jane Austen in the flesh. The dialogues between Rose and Jane are hilarious.

To read Jane’s opinions on modern technology made me startle and laugh. You know the language we love and recognise but probably would not have used in such a context. A bravo to the authors for setting up this plot and executing it as they did.

Both Morgan and Rose enjoy their time at the festival and find romance and though different from an instant attraction to an long habored infatuation it takes encouragement and bravery to find happiness. Dr. Aiden Trevellyan is another central character in the book and his and Rose’s story is sweet and adorable and Rose’s heart firmly belong to him. You are rooting for them to get together finally. Problem is that he just doesn’t see her that way. Or does he? I’ll leave you, potential readers, to discover this for yourself.

After those blissful and hilarious chapters I am very familiar with comes the next part…. Jane’s charm and means of transport to her time disappears through an accident and suddenly Rose and the reader find themselves in a world where Jane Austen’s works were never published.

And it changes many things. Not just for literature but for the city of Bath and most importantly those readers influenced by her work. Did you ever wonder of the paths your life might have taken had you not read a certain book? Would you have made different choices? What would your life be like? Who would you be friends with?

That’s the situation Rose finds herself in. She struggles to find her place in her life without Jane Austen and understands how much her body of work influenced her life. She misses her best  friend Morgan very much. She is a stronger, more confident and less introvert person because she connects with people. Oh that part is still there but she dearly misses her old life. Together Jane and her try to find a way to get her back to her time.

Will they succeed? A dear reader I will not spoil this for you. You must read the book yourself. It is a light hearted story that makes you laugh, smile and ponder what books give the world and ponder what ifs. But it is also full of friendship and romance. I was drawn in fast and once my curiosity had peaked I had to know how the story unfolded. Plus my knowledge of Jane Austen, the Jane Austen Festival and the city of Bath made it all the more alive for me. 

This was also the first time-travel romance regarding Jane Austen I’ve read. And as always with a huge and sometimes critical fanbase the facts have to fit the historical backround and I really do think it all fits together. All the elements of the story fit. A feat indeed and a compliment to the authors for accomplishing this.

To phrase it with Jane Austen’s words: ‘If a book is well written I always find it too short.’

And… there is a second book picking up where the first one ended. It is called ‘The Unexpected past of Miss Austen.’

Did I mention I am an avid Janeite like Rose? Should be obvious by now I daresay. To prove thesis here is a photo of myself at the last Jane Austen Festival I attended in 2019. Recognize the place?

Jane Austen Festival 2019, entrance to Sydney Place Nr. 4

Hm… maybe I’ll peak into the apartment next time I’m there… one never knows who you might meet.

Well I am off to read the next installment of the series. Thank you Cassandra Grafton and Ada Bright for a delightful novel. I can highly recommend this book to my fellow Janeites and other readers of similar taste open to a little time-travel, particularly those familiar with Bath and the annual Jane Austen Festival held there.

Oh and there’s a good audiobook if you like those as well. I usually get the ebook and audiobook on amazon as a deal. Really worth it. Below are the links to the ebooks or hardcopy editions likewise if you are a  more traditional reader.

Amazon.com

Amazon.de

Amazon.co.uk

Cassandra Grafton

One thought on “‘The Particular Charm of Miss Jane Austen’ by Ada Bright and Cassandra Grafton

Leave a comment